It’s Our…

…Birthday!  We are ONE today!

One year ago today I posted my first blog post, having decided to ‘have a go’.  There was no picture in it!  I didn’t know where I was going, or what I would really achieve by doing it.  But I did know I wanted the opportunity to write and post some of the pictures I take.  That’s exactly what I’ve been doing.

It’s so easy to be taken in by what others say about blogs – know your target audience…know your subject…have a plan…publicise your blog for maximum traffic…spend lots of time writing top quality posts…  Much of that is hard when one has little time.  When I started to write and post I wrote and posted what I would like to read, and posted pictures I would like to look at.  That is still my focus now.  And in this one year, only once have I read my mantra – write for yourself.  For me, that’s the most important bit.  Writing for others means there are many who will be excluded, and it’s really hard trying to be someone that I am not to please others!  That’s just not my thing.

I’ve added in some book reviews as I’ve gone along – because I love reading and thought others might like to know what I’ve found.  I’ve featured all kinds of meals and snacks, which I didn’t think I would originally.  I haven’t really featured much about afternoon tea at all, but I still love the ritual of afternoon tea.  I don’t have much traffic through the blog – but that doesn’t matter to me.  I just enjoy looking at something I’ve created which I never thought I would have the opportunity to do, nor which I thought I would have the confidence to do.

I would like to say A GREAT BIG THANK YOU to all those who follow my blog, who have contributed with comments and likes, and who take a look to see what’s going on here.  Your support is very much appreciated.

All there is left to say is:  Here’s to the next year, and…

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “It’s Our…

Leave a Reply

