Toasted Sandwich…

…in a salad.

I adore a toasted sandwich with Stilton, apple and walnuts.  The flavours are diverse but melt together so well.  Sweetness, nuttiness, saltiness and earthiness.  A mind-blowing flavour combination.

This sandwich was introduced to me many years ago by a local Christian Coffee/Bookshop called Mustard Seed.  I think it was one of their specials or something like that.  I’ve never forgotten it.  And it’s rare to see it on any menus – perhaps because of the combination?  Perhaps because of the Stilton?

A sweet apple is crucial to me, partly to obtain the sweet/savoury balance.  But also perhaps because I just don’t like sour fruit.

Salad base – as you will.

With said toppings – Stilton, sliced apple and walnuts.

A sliver of salty cheese, a bite of earthy walnut, a crunch of sweet apple.  Mmm Mmm…

Sandwich on salad.

2 thoughts on “Toasted Sandwich…

  1. Looks delicious. I’ll have to add Stilton to my cheese tasting. My sister recommended a Wensleydale. Are you familiar with it?

    • Hi Suz
      Wensleydale is a tangy, crumbly cheese with a mild-ish but very definite flavour. It’s also often found in the UK as Wensleydale with cranberries, which is also very good. Self-control is required! I’m following your cheese-tasting adventures – they make me drool, and they’re very interesting. I’m a cheese fiend born-and-bred!

Leave a Reply

