Me and My Camera

I have a week off work – wonderful!  And the weather is looking good.

Me and my little point-and-shoot just weren’t getting on over this home-made Potato Salad  😦

Or may be it was just the blandness of the colours of the ingredients that were the problem?

Even so, that would not stop me from enjoying this dish – I love the stuff!  I’ve never been keen on supermarket-bought potato salad.  The tiny cubes of potato are unappealing, their skins have been removed, and there is always an abundance of vinegar mixed in.  Bleh.

Bring on home-made, fresh Potato Salad made with Jersey Royal new potatoes – oh yum!  The taste is divine.  Wherever possible, boil the potatoes with sprigs of fresh mint added(of course, if my pot of mint hadn’t died over winter then I wouldn’t have to buy it).  The mint gives a delicate flavour, and enhances the wonderful taste of the new potatoes.

Potato Salad

225g new potatoes, skins on, boiled in lightly salted water until tender

Sprigs of fresh mint – add to the cooking pot of potatoes

1/2 small onion, finely chopped

2 Tbsp mayonnaise of choice

Fresh black pepper

Drain and cool the cooked potatoes, remove the soggy mint leaves, and(if not already done) slice into thick chunks and place in a mixing bowl.  Sprinkle over the finely diced onion, then add the mayonnaise and stir gently but thoroughly to make sure the potatoes are coated.  Add black pepper to taste, mix once more.

Refrigerate at least for one hour, and enjoy!

Well now…we have to discuss ingredients.  New potatoes must be used – other potatoes are not firm enough and will go mashy/mushy, which is no good.  New potatoes can withstand the stirring to coat with the mayonnaise.  They are more waxy, with a robust texture compared to others.

The best added flavour for Potato Salad is chives!  But I had none, so onion will do.  Either of them impart the savoury, oniony flavour – but don’t overdo the onion if you use it unless you really love plenty of raw onion to munch on.  It should be a subtle contribution to the dish.  This is also why it should be finely diced, to make it blend into the mayonnaise ‘sauce’.  No lumps.  If using chives, snip and add as many as you wish.  I don’t think they can be overdone.  And they add a splash of colour.

Regarding mayonnaise – I’m afraid Hellman’s have me hooked on their mayo.  I’ve tried to like other brands, or fresh-made but I just can’t get into them.  I love the flavour of their mayo.  If you think I’m a murderer because of this – so be it.  Choose whichever mayo you will, and enjoy it.

This is probably, and usually, served as a side-dish with other salad components – e.g. cold meats, green salad, pickles.  I’m very happy to eat a tub of this, solo, for lunch.

And finally – the last picture looks totally manky!  But don’t be put off – the flavour is wonderful.  Pure pleasure.  Try it out.

Are there any variations on the traditional recipe for this salad?

2 thoughts on “Me and My Camera

  1. Ooh! That does look good. I wonder if our mayonnaise comes with “free range” as well. I’ll have to check on that. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

