Minty Salad

This salad seems very similar to others I’ve done – but please bear with me…

Having seen many recipes for Tabbouleh, I’ve never really understood the appeal of a salad with fresh mint added to it.  It always seemed the flavour would be too aromatic and overpowering.

I totally stand corrected.

Last weekend my Beloved took me out for lunch to Pizza Express.  I chose a big, fat Warm Vegetable & Goat’s Cheese Salad ‘cos that’s what I fancied, and they do their salads well – with wonderful toppings and lots of good flavour.  Within it was…fresh mint!  It added a whole new dimension to the flavours and I was converted.  But…would a salad with fresh mint added be as good home-prepared?

It was!

Having used all of the giant couscous, I have reverted to baby couscous – the whole grain variety(which I’ve never tried before).  And I used the basis of my giant couscous salad for this one.

Minty Couscous Salad

1 cup dried couscous

1 red pepper, deseeded and diced

8 cherry tomatoes, diced

6″ chunk cucumber, diced

1 large carrot, peeled and chopped

2 spring onions, peeled and finely sliced

1 tbsp raisins

1 tbsp dried cranberries

1 tbsp pumpkin seeds

1 tbsp sunflower seeds

1 tbsp finely chopped fresh mint leaves

Grindings of salt and fresh black pepper

In a large mixing bowl, just cover the couscous with boiling water and leave it to soak up the liquid.  Stir to fluff up.  I added a grinding of salt at this stage – only a little.

Once all liquid is absorbed, and couscous has cooled, add in all other ingredients – including a grinding of black pepper, to taste – and mix thoroughly.

Enjoy!

I have to say again…there just is something so satisfying about stirring the ingredients in a big bowl with a big spoon.

This salad was so fresh tasting, and I would even add a bit more mint.  It wasn’t overpowering.  It mingled perfectly with the other fresh flavours, and the sweetness of the dried fruits.  It’s so easy to whip up a big bowl of salad like this and portion it out for lunches, when you have little no time in the mornings before work.  Leaving it at least overnight lets the flavours develop, and plump up the juicy raisins.

I don’t get bored with eating this, but for those who think they might then change up the veggies you use; and change up the toppings – goat cheese, hummus, cold meat, hard-boiled egg, some diced Cheddar…endless options.  It’s so enjoyable to dig into the tub of salad, and there’s something about munching on small, diced veggies rather than large pieces/chunks.

Will you go minty…?  Go on!

2 thoughts on “Minty Salad

Leave a Reply

