Plant Heavy

At the beginning of the year, I decided that one of the achievements I wanted to look back on for 2012 would be to have consumed a plant-heavy diet.

Last night the fancy for a bowl of Cauliflower Cheese supported that goal nicely!  I used a small cauliflower for one person.

Remove greens from the cauliflower, break into florets and rinse well.  Lightly cook – for 10-15 minutes – in some boiling salted water.  Drain well.

Place 50g cream cheese(Philadelphia Light) in a jug and microwave for 30 seconds.  Stir well.  Add a grinding of fresh black pepper, 50ml milk, and 30g grated extra mature Cheddar and stir well.  Microwave for 1 minute and stir well to thoroughly mix.

Assemble the Cauliflower Cheese on your serving plate:  Put your drained cauliflower on to the plate, pour over the cheese sauce and sprinkle with 10g grated extra mature Cheddar.  Enjoy!

I adore this lazy version of cheese sauce – it’s the best ever!  As always, use extra mature Cheddar for a very tasty sauce.  Because it’s so tasty, a little goes a long way.  And it’s so quick to prepare.  In fact, the whole meal was quick and easy, and consisted of whole foods.

You could fancy it up:  Make a crispy topping of breadcrumbs and Cheddar, and grill until brown and toasty.  Slice a tomato to layer over the top with the Cheddar and grill.  Grill a rasher of bacon to crisp, and crumble over the top.  Serve with some wonderful fresh bread, to make it more substantial.

I wanted plain and simple…and that’s what I enjoyed!

It makes the house smell of cauliflower – not so pleasant, but no good reason to not make this dish either!  And remember to drain the cooked cauliflower as much as you can – I did and still had water floating in the bottom of my bowl when I came to eat it(I drained it off).

My taste buds were tickled, and my belly was happy… 🙂

Leave a Reply

