Mothering Sunday

Rather than go out to eat, the family accepted my invitation to do an Afternoon Tea Party in honour of Mothering Sunday last week.  I loved planning this – it was fun!  I decided to keep it fairly simple as I only had Saturday and Sunday to prepare.  If I had been on annual leave then it would have been even more special than this one.

I haven’t made scones in such a long time – but these turned out ok!

And looking at the pictures now, everything seemed so colourful.  I made small sandwich platters for two little kiddleywinks whose taste-buds are a bit different to those of the adults.  And I think presentation is key to it looking special and appealing, too.  It was the ideal opportunity to bring out the green/gold antique tea-plates which I purchased a few years ago, along with the little Portmeirion cake forks which my wonderful aunt gave me as a gift 🙂  And of course, the tea-pot!

The piping bag had an outing!

Had to include this pic – little nephew took it, and I think it’s fab!  He’s good!

Cucumber and cream cheese…ham and mayonnaise…egg and cress sandwiches.Haribo cakes!  Which were served on a cake stand which my fab cousin gave to me as a gift – thank you 😉  This was its first duty!  And a platter of scones to go with jam and cream – which was served in little tea-cups and serving bowls.

A wonderful variety of good food, with good company to celebrate a special occasion.

Happy Mothering Sunday, Mum  xxx

4 thoughts on “Mothering Sunday

  1. Glad you liked the cake stand! Can see it was put to good use! They looked like yummy cakes! X x

Leave a Reply

