Waste Not, Want Not

See this ugly beauty?

I was torn.  Should I?  Shouldn’t I?  Should I? Shouldn’t I?

Well I didn’t – put it in the bin.  I had paid good money for that broccoli stem, and it was too much to discard.  It’s also perfectly edible, if a little unsightly, and full of nutrients and fibre.

So I sliced off the dead end, removed the dry bits up the edges, then chopped it fairly finely and popped it in a pan.

Look at that beautiful, fresh green colour!  The broccoli stem was large enough to be worth chopping up, but small enough to only need a small amount of stock to cook it in – I had chicken stock, but you could use vegetable stock.

Adjust the amount of stock, according to your preference.  I prefer thick soup, so use a smaller quantity of liquid for cooking.  I also think it’s better to use a small amount of liquid, then add later.  Extra liquid can be added later, to thin the soup; but it’s difficult to thicken when too much liquid has been used.  Add a grinding of fresh black pepper, bring to the boil and simmer until the broccoli stem pieces are tender.

Add as much Stilton as you like – it’s a strong flavour, so add a small amount and taste, then add more if desired.

Liquidise – I used a hand-blender.  And voila!

I present to you…Broccoli & Stilton Soup.

It’s a great way of using up leftovers…it’s nutritious, warming and satisfying…and it’s very tasty.

If a whole head of broccoli is used, the result will be a darker green.  But it’s good to learn to use up what there is, and reduce wastage, and save pennies!  This created a tasty lunch for one.

What is your favourite soup?

5 thoughts on “Waste Not, Want Not

  1. Brilliant idea! Im trying to reduce our food waste at the moment and I had a brocolli stem the other day – I ended up just boiling it and eating it along with the florets but I wish Id made soup haha!! Thanks for posting this so I know for next time! x

  2. Pingback: Why waste when you can taste? « veghotpot

Leave a Reply

