Mexico of Old

source

I finished reading The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver – it was a really good read.

First things first – I checked the meaning of ‘lacuna‘ using The Free Dictionary.  They say it means ‘an empty space or missing part, gap’.  That concept features all through the story.

My views of the book:

  • It was challenging – I know nothing of Mexico’s history, which features in the story – and I had to look it up to widen my knowledge.  I knew about the politics which affected the characters’ lives throughout the story.
  • There were twists and turns – just when you think you know the direction the story is heading, it changed.
  • There were underlying themes which were not overtly described.  Imagination and thought were required.
  • There were strong and interesting characters with the tales of their lives.  I loved Mrs Brown!
  • It was a good story, and I liked the layout, including newspaper clippings and diary extracts.  That also made it interesting to read.
  • At points the story felt a bit slow, but not slow enough to make me put the book down and stop reading.  I had to read ’til the end.

I’ve read the Poisonwood Bible previously, and that also was thought-provoking, enlightening and a good story.  Barbara Kingsolver has come up trumps with this book, also(I’m late reading it – The Lacuna was published in 2009).

I’m now looking for her other books in charity shops – but did you notice the passing of books for 50p in charity shops, coffee mornings and the like….?  Now they’re £2 and £2.50(if not more).  Does that mean I’m getting old…?

I’ve just started reading ‘The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest’ by Stieg Larsson – I love his stuff, and I can’t put the book down.  Off to read some more in a moment!

What are your good reads?  Have you checked out this site for some ideas and inspiration?

Leave a Reply

